Blogs

More New DVDs!

Can't watch enough movies? Check out the new ones we've got in our collection for you to borrow for free!

Click on the call number of the title you're interested in to go directly to the catalog. From there, you can place a hold and we will let you know when it becomes available for you. You can also ask in the Adult Services Department or call 248-618-7693 if you need help in placing a request. Read more

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner

                              Bree Tanner                    

Place your request for the upcoming novella by Stephenie Meyer!

If you haven't heard, The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner is the story of Bree Tanner, a character that first appeared in Eclipse. Check out more info on Stephenie's website

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner is out on June 5th!

The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow

Check our catalog for: The Girl Who Fell from the Skysky cover

This debut novel tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I. who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy. With her strict African American grandmother as her new guardian, Rachel moves to a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring mixed attention her way. Growing up in the 1980s, she learns to swallow her overwhelming grief and confronts her identity as a biracial young woman in a world that wants to see her as either black or white. In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid's Annie John and Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl - and society's ideas of race, class, and beauty.

The Pharaoh's Secret by Marissa Moss

book cover PSCheck our catalog for: The Pharaoh's Secret

Talibah, age 14, and her younger brother, Adom, travel with their father on a business trip to his native land of Egypt.  Strange dreams and visions, mysterious carvings, and people with golden snake bracelets begin to trouble Talibah as soon as she arrives.  Visits to museums and Ancient Egyptian temples soon reveal a mystery over 3,500 years in the making.  Talibah learns about Hatshepsut, the Pharaoh Queen and is commissioned beyond the grave to find Senenmut, Hatchepsut's missing advisor and tutor for her daughter, and learns about her own family history as well.  A fascinating read that combines Ancient Egyptian history, legend, and the timeless love of family.  Recommended for Gr. 6 and up.

Library Now Has Mango Online Language Learning Program

Mango LogoHave you always wanted to learn a foreign language? Refresh your knowledge before a trip abroad? Mango Language Learning Programs available through the library's online databases now provide the following 22 languages and 14 additional ESL programs:

Spanish, Italian, Brazilian Portugese, Greek, Japanese, Russian, French, Mandarin Chinese, German, Arabic, Pashto, Farsi, Urdu, Turkish, Hebrew, Korean, Vietnamese, Thai, Tagalog, Hindi, Irish, Dari

The Mango Language Learning Program is available 24/7 and can be accessed through this link: Try Mango Languages Today!

The Coroner's Lunch by Colin Cotterill

The Coroner's LunchCheck our catalog for: The Coroner's Lunch

Confronted by the poisoning of an important official's wife and the sudden appearance of three bodies that may create an international incident between Laos and Vietnam, 72-year-old state coroner Dr. Siri Paiboun keeps his cool in Cotterill's engaging whodunit, set in Laos a year after the 1975 Communist takeover. Ably assisted by the entertaining Geung and ambitious Dtui, Siri calmly gleans clues from minute examinations of the bodies while circumnavigating bureaucratic red tape to arrive at justice.

Important News for NetLibrary Media Center users

NetLibrary logoIf you have downloaded and installed NetLibrary's Media Center software on your computer for downloading titles from NetLibrary, please be aware that effective May 20, 2010, NetLibrary will no longer support Media Center Versions 1.2.52.3 and lower. If your version of Media Center is 1.2.52.3 or lower, you will need to uninstall the software and reinstall the most current version to continue accessing eAudiobooks.

Read more

Vegetable Gardening Books

You'll have a growing interest in these vegetable and herb gardening booksorganic vegetables

All new square foot gardening : grow more in less space! / Mel Bartholomew.
CALL NUMBER: 635 BART                   

Crops in pots : how to plan, plant, and grow vegetables, fruits, and herbs in easy care containers / Bob Purnell   
CALL NUMBER: 635.986 PURN                             Read more

The Penny Pinchers Club by Sarah Strohmeyer

Check our catalog for: The Penny Pinchers Club

Kat is a housewife with a big spending problem. When she discovers that her husband is planning to leave her after their daughter's upcoming high school graduation, she goes on a quest to save up the $15,000 she'll need to retain a divorce attorney. At the suggestion of her housekeeper, Kat joins a group called the Penny Pinchers Club which meets in the local library basement to start learning how to be more thrifty. Well-written and charming, the story has some interesting twists and turns, with themes of mid-life reinvention, old flames, some dumpster-diving espionage and crummy bosses who need to get what's coming to them, all explored while giving helpful hints on living well for less.

A Fatal Grace: A Three Pines Mystery by Louise Penny

Check our catalog for: A Fatal Grace

A Fatal Grace coverThis is the second book in the mystery series set in the small town of Three Pines, Quebec, and featuring Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Surete du Quebec. (Smart, experienced, and patient - he's just what you want in a chief inspector).  A woman nobody likes is electrocuted in the middle of a frozen lake while watching a game of curling, and Gamache and his team have to figure out who the murderer is.  The characters of the townspeople are interesting and appealing and well developed - you really get to know them and their individual personalities.  Three Pines just seems so pleasant and cozy. The first book in the series is Still Life.  These are great books, especially if you like your cozy mysteries with a little French mixed in.