Blogs

Safe from the Neighbors by Steve Yarbrough

Check our catalog for: Safe from the Neighbors

In his new novel, Yarbrough intertwines James Meredith’s enrollment at Ole Miss with a town’s not-so-admirable response. Decades later, local historian and high-school teacher Luke May struggles with his father’s involvement in Meredith’s enrollment. May also initiates his family’s crumbling. Being a historian, or perhaps simply by being human, May is incapable of forgetting, which he recognizes as both blessing and curse.

Bree Tanner

If you don't want to wait for a copy of The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner,
Stephenie Meyer is offering her fans the chance to read the book online for free! 

The site will be live beginning June 7th until July 5th. Happy reading!

Babysitting Class for Teens

babysittingThe American Red Cross will be here on Saturday, June 19th to present a babysitting workshop for teens 11-15. The class will run from 9:00 am to 3:30 pm and will be held in the Main Library's Community room. Teens will also need to bring a sack lunch.

  • Cost is $25 which includes a training manual and babysitter first aid and safety kit.

Call the Adult Reference Desk at 248-618-7693 to sign up for this program!

THIS CLASS IS NOW FULL.

 

Changes to our catalog coming June 7

Starting June 7th, our catalog will have a new look, new colors, and a few changes. The catalog name will change from iBistro to eLibrary. We think you'll find it's mostly pretty similar to the previous version of the catalog, but you may want to take note of the following changes:

Searching

  • You'll pick your type of search (author, title, subject, keyword) from a dropdown menu, and then click the "search" button.
  • The specialized searches, such as audiobook search, or movie search, which used to be on tabs across the top of the page, will now be found on the right side of the page in the "Find Material" box.
  • Once you do a search and get a hit list, click on either the title or the item's cover image to get to the full information for that item and see whether any copies are available and where they are located, and/or to place a hold.

Renewing your items

  • In "My Account", renewal of materials will be accomplished from the "Checkouts" tab.

As always, please let us know if you need help using the catalog, or just have comment.

Online Privacy

The Detroit Free Press published an article on Sunday, May 23rd addressing the security of your personal information on the Internet. The popular social networking site Facebook has come under scrutiny lately because of confusion over their privacy settings, resulting in a growing number of people deleting their profiles entirely. In this article, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg does admit some privacy mistakes have been made.

The article lists websites you can use to detect your own online safety, including Profilewatch.org, which scores how private your Facebook information is and Youropenbook.org, showing what Facebook is making public. Reclaimprivacy.org will allow you to check your current Facebook privacy settings and make adjustments as you see fit. The June 2010 issue of Consumer Reports also features an article about online privacy as well as rankings on security software, many of which are free.

It's important to protect yourself from being vulnerable to online predators, and this information can help.

More New DVDs!

Can't watch enough movies? Check out the new ones we've got in our collection for you to borrow for free!

Click on the call number of the title you're interested in to go directly to the catalog. From there, you can place a hold and we will let you know when it becomes available for you. You can also ask in the Adult Services Department or call 248-618-7693 if you need help in placing a request. Read more

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner

                              Bree Tanner                    

Place your request for the upcoming novella by Stephenie Meyer!

If you haven't heard, The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner is the story of Bree Tanner, a character that first appeared in Eclipse. Check out more info on Stephenie's website

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner is out on June 5th!

The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow

Check our catalog for: The Girl Who Fell from the Skysky cover

This debut novel tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I. who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy. With her strict African American grandmother as her new guardian, Rachel moves to a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring mixed attention her way. Growing up in the 1980s, she learns to swallow her overwhelming grief and confronts her identity as a biracial young woman in a world that wants to see her as either black or white. In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid's Annie John and Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl - and society's ideas of race, class, and beauty.

The Pharaoh's Secret by Marissa Moss

book cover PSCheck our catalog for: The Pharaoh's Secret

Talibah, age 14, and her younger brother, Adom, travel with their father on a business trip to his native land of Egypt.  Strange dreams and visions, mysterious carvings, and people with golden snake bracelets begin to trouble Talibah as soon as she arrives.  Visits to museums and Ancient Egyptian temples soon reveal a mystery over 3,500 years in the making.  Talibah learns about Hatshepsut, the Pharaoh Queen and is commissioned beyond the grave to find Senenmut, Hatchepsut's missing advisor and tutor for her daughter, and learns about her own family history as well.  A fascinating read that combines Ancient Egyptian history, legend, and the timeless love of family.  Recommended for Gr. 6 and up.

Library Now Has Mango Online Language Learning Program

Mango LogoHave you always wanted to learn a foreign language? Refresh your knowledge before a trip abroad? Mango Language Learning Programs available through the library's online databases now provide the following 22 languages and 14 additional ESL programs:

Spanish, Italian, Brazilian Portugese, Greek, Japanese, Russian, French, Mandarin Chinese, German, Arabic, Pashto, Farsi, Urdu, Turkish, Hebrew, Korean, Vietnamese, Thai, Tagalog, Hindi, Irish, Dari

The Mango Language Learning Program is available 24/7 and can be accessed through this link: Try Mango Languages Today!