Blogs

Your Money Ratios: 8 Simple Tools for Financial Security by Charles Farrell

Your Money Ratios book coverCheck our catalog for: Your Money Ratios: 8 Simple Tools for Financial Security

Of all the personal finance books that I've read, this has been one of the best. The ratios described help you track your progress towards securing your financial future. Elegant in their simplicity, they rely on a hundred years of financial data to provide a reality check that ensures that you'll have enough money to provide for a secure retirement. Just as important, the author explains the steps you need to take to protect your financial resources through prudent investing strategies, using insurance to protect your personal and financial resources and using strategies that avoid the emotions that come with the ups and downs of the economy and the stock market. Where other books rely on complex or gimmicky strategies that rely on your emotions to get you to do the right thing, the author boils it down to simple numbers that can be easily understood.  Read more

Looking for a New Military Thriller to read? Place holds now on this New Title!

The Renegades by Tom Young - a military thriller set in Afghanistan.
"Fans of Clancy and Coonts need to add Young to their must-read lists." - Booklist
  

 

Your Guide to the League of Women Voters Online Voter Guide

The League of Women Voters Oakland Area has a Voter Guides web page which covers all the various races and proposals of all Oakland County for the August 7, 2012 election.  They do not publish a paper guide for the August election, so to read their information you'll need to view it online.

Here are the parts of that voter guide which pertain to you as a Waterford resident:

U.S. Senator  - Statewide

U.S. Representative - Waterford is now entirely in the new 11th Congressional District

State Representative - Waterford is District 43

Oakland County Officers - Countywide (see the links to the six positions on the LOWV voter guides page in the Oakland County Officers section). Read more

Have you joined the Adult Summer Reading Program?

Join the Adult Summer Reading Program today by simply filling out an entry form for each book you read this summer!
After you complete 5 entry forms you'll be invited to the Library Luau August 16th.

Follow Your Dream

Have you ever dreamed of selling everything and going off on a grand adventure? Or thought how exciting it would be to take off and explore the country? Here are some stories to enjoy of real people who took a chance and decided to follow their dream. Read more

Looking for a New Romance to read? Place holds now on these New Titles!

At Last by Jill Shalvis 
"Count on Jill Shalvis for a witty, steamy, unput-downable love story." - Robyn Carr

Once Burned: a Night Prince novel by Jeaniene Frost
"There are many Draculas out there, but only one Vlad!" - Ilona Andrews

Scandal Wears Satin by Loretta Chase
"One of the finest romance authors of all time." - Julia Quinn

         

DIA InsideOut art installed at the library

 

Berenice Reproaching Ptolemy by Jean-Joseph Taillasson (a reproduction) was installed today thanks to the DIA's InsideOut program.  Check it out as you enter the library!

DIA art reproduction outside the library

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And check out the other locations in Waterford, through the end of September, too!

signage by DIA art reproduction

"Dream" Fiction